December 17, 2018, 11:55 pm

Equipment Criticality

Equipment Criticality Analysis – A Streamlined Approach

critical equipmentAs consultants, we have seen our clients spend an awful lot of time performing detailed analysis in order to determine the criticality of their equipment.  In our view, much of that time is unnecessary.  In this article, we will explore a streamlined approach for determining equipment criticality, which achieves the desired results, but more quickly, and consuming less of your most valuable people’s time. 

Before starting, however, it is worth first considering whether you need to perform Equipment Criticality Analysis at all, and if you do, what you are going to use the resulting outputs for.  As we discuss in the article “Equipment Criticality Analysis – Is it a Waste of Time?”, there are a number of possible uses for Equipment Criticality Analysis, some more sound than others.  It is important to start this process with the end objective clearly in mind – there is definitely nothing more wasteful than spending lots of time assessing the criticality of every asset in your organisation, loading this into your ERP, EAM or CMMS system, and then doing nothing with it.

 

Equipment Criticality Analysis – is it a Waste of Time?

One of the “sacred cows” of Maintenance and Asset Management that is rarely questioned is the belief that it is essential for organisations to identify “critical” assets.  While this may be true, the reality is that most organisations do this extremely poorly, and the effort that they put into doing “Equipment Criticality Assessment” is mostly completely wasted.  Let’s examine this proposition, and the reasons why it may be true.

 

Upcoming Training Courses

Monday, 4 Feb 2019 - Tuesday, 5 Feb 2019
Location: Brisbane

Wednesday, 6 Feb 2019 - Thursday, 7 Feb 2019
Location: Brisbane

Friday, 8 Feb 2019
Location: Brisbane

Monday, 11 Feb 2019 - Tuesday, 12 Feb 2019
Location: Perth

Wednesday, 13 Feb 2019 - Thursday, 14 Feb 2019
Location: Perth

Friday, 15 Feb 2019
Location: Perth

Tuesday, 19 Feb 2019 - Wednesday, 20 Feb 2019
Location: Brisbane
Sign up to our Mailing List

Receive useful Maintenance & Asset Management articles, tools and news

assetivity logo